Trinity College Dublin Library Competition

An international architecture competition that attracted two hundred and eighteen entriees from twenty-nine different countries. The jury comprised the Earl of Ross, Vice-chancellor of the University; Professor Franco Albini, of the Instituto Universitario di Architettura, Venice; Sir Hugh Maxwell Casson; Raymond McGrath; and K. De Witt Metcalf, former Drector of Harvard University Library. The competition was won by Paul Koralek, who received a prize of £1,500, and the building now the new Library (formerly Berkeley) opened in 1967. The second premium went to Alfred Mansfeld, who received £1,000, and the third placed design by Gene J. Festa and William H. Gardner received £750.