1847 – Railway Station, Portarlington, Co. Laois

Architect: Sancton Wood / George Wilkinson


The station opened on 26 June 1847, and was designed by Sanction Wood in a picturesque Gothic style for Great Southern & Western Railway. Later refreshment room of 1861 by George Wilkinson to blend in with the building. Described in The Builder as a “spacious and elaborately finished saloon”.