Roisin Heneghan shortlisted for AJ Woman Architect of the Year award

heneghan_roisinIrish architect Roisin Heneghan has been shortlisted for the inaugural AJ Woman Architect of the Year award. Also shortlisted are Zaha Hadid, Amanda Levete, Sarah Wigglesworth, Deborah Saunt (DSDHA), Cindy Walters and Michál Cohen (Walters and Cohen), Alison Brooks, and Clare Wright (Wright & Wright).

The shortlist for the Emerging Woman Architect of the Year, a design award open to all women architects under 40, includes rising stars Jude Barber of Collective Architecture; Pie Architecture founder Fran Balaam and Pernilla Ohrstedt of Pernilla & Asif, as well as Make’s Katy Ghahremani, Sophie Goldhill of Liddicoat & Goldhill, Hannah Lawson of John McAslan + Partners, Holly Lewis of We Made That and Nathalie Rozencwajg of RARE Architecture.

Winners, including the recipient of the Jane Drew Prize for the greatest contribution to the status of women in architecture, will be announced at the AJ’s first ever Women in Architecture Awards luncheon on 20 April at London’s Langham Hotel. The judges are: Richard Rogers of Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners; Open-City director Victoria Thornton; Maggie’s chief executive Laura Lee; Corporation of London City planning officer Peter Rees; Stephen Lawrence Trust director Doreen Lawrence; V&A design director Moira Gemmill; Land Securities’ head of development for London portfolio Colette O’Shea; Pritzker Prize executive director Martha Thorne, with AJ editor Christine Murray as chair.