What shall we do with the Modern Movement?

What shall we do with the Modern Movement?A day-long conference, What shall we do with the Modern Movement? will be held at the National Museum, Collins Barracks on Wednesday, November 10. Organised by DOCOMOMO Ireland with support from the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, the conference is intended to feed into the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage survey of Dublin, beginning in 2011.

Explore the significance of Ireland’s Modern Movement heritage in a unique event intended to feed into the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage survey of Dublin, beginning in 2011. Learn from some of Ireland’s and Europe’s leading experts about contemporary best practice in relation to the inventorying, protection, management, reinterpretation, repair and conservation of modern 20th century architecture.

Please note that pre-booking is essential, as places are strictly limited and will be allocated in the order in which they are received. Places may be reserved by emailing docomomoireland@gmail.com and forwarding a cheque for €50 (which includes registration, teas, coffees and a sandwich lunch) made out to DOCOMOMO Ireland, 8 Merrion Square, Dublin 2. Bookings will be confirmed by email once payment has been received.

John Allan

has led all Avanti Architects’ Modern Movement conservation projects, including buildings by Lubetkin, Lasdun, Goldfinger and Connell Ward & Lucas. He was first Chairman of DoCoMoMo-UK and serves on the English Heritage Advisory Committee.

Peter Carroll

graduated from University College Dublin in 1995 and worked with O’Donnell + Tuomey (1995 – 2002) and Rafael Moneo (2002 – 2005) before establishing A2 Architects with Caomhán Murphy in 2005. He is Treasurer of DoCoMoMo Ireland.

Iveta Cerná

is a graduate of the Faculty of Architecture at Brno University of Technology and the Art History Department of theFaculty of Arts at Masaryk University, also in Brno. Since 2002 she has been director of Villa Tugendhat, under the operational administration of the City of Brno Museum.

Peter Cody

graduated from Dublin Institute of Technology and Trinity College Dublin in 1990 and Columbia University NY in 1996. He worked with Alvaro Siza (1992 – 95) and Wendy Joseph (1997 – 98) before establishing Boyd Cody Architects in 2000. He is Chairman of DoCoMoMo Ireland.

Martin Colreavy

is Chief Architect in DoEHLG with a specialist role in Heritage, Architectural Policy and Urban Design. He was responsible for the Government Policy Documents on Urban Design, and the Government Policy on Architecture and the Built Environment 2009- 2015, Towards a Sustainable Future.

Catherine Croft

is the Director of The Twentieth Century Society and author of Concrete Architecture. She sat on the English Heritage Post War Steering Group and runs the course on The Conservation of Historic Concrete at West Dean College. She is a trustee of Heritage Alliance.

Ciarán Cuffe TD

holds degrees in architecture and town planning from University College Dublin and was appointed Minister of State with special responsibility for Sustainable Transport, Horticulture, Planning and Heritage in 2010. This work is spread over three departments: Transport; Environment, Heritage, and Local Government; and Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

William Cumming

graduated from the School of Architecture, UCD in 1977 and worked in Dublin and London before joining the OPW. He transferred to National Monuments in 1989, with responsibility for the North East Region. He is Director of the NIAH since 2002.

Frank Donnelly

graduated from University College Dublin in 1975 and worked in London before joining the OPW in 1980. He works in the DoEHLG’s Built Heritage & Architectural Policy Unit.

Bill Fleeton

worked as a Civil Engineer in general contracting. In 1985, with a partner, he established a specialist concrete repair company. He is a former Chairman of both the CIF Master Builders and the Irish Concrete Society. Although retired, he retains an active interest in concrete technology.

Jennifer Goff

is Curator of Furniture, Music and Scientific Instruments and the Eileen Gray Collection with the Art and Industrial Division at the National Museum of Ireland.

Graham Hickey

works in architectural history and conservation policy in Dublin Civic Trust, an architectural heritage organisation. Author and contributor to a number of architectural heritage publications and policy documents, he holds a special interest in the design and evolution of historic fenestration.

Paul Larmour

is an architectural historian and Reader in Architecture at Queen’s University Belfast. From 1991 to 1994 he was consultant to the Northern Ireland Environment and Heritage Service for the thematic survey of 20th century buildings, which resulted in a number of Post-War listings. He is a member of DoCoMoMo-UK.

Sander Nelissen

graduated from the Technical University of Delft in 1993. He is increasingly involved in the restoration and reuse of Modern Movement heritage, currently at Wessel de Jonge architects (Rotterdam) including the Van Nelle factory and Duiker’s Zonnestraal Sanatorium and Open Air School.

Shane O’Toole

was inaugural Director of the Irish Architecture Foundation and Ireland’s Commissioner for the Venice Biennale in 2004 and 2006. He was named IBP Architectural Critic of the Year in 2008 and 2009. He is Secretary of DoCoMoMo Ireland.

Ola Wedebrunn

is associate professor at the architecture school, Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen, and Professor of Architecture at the NTNU University of Trondheim. He has authored numerou publications on materials, material technology and architecture for DoCoMoMo’s International Specialist Committee on Technology and ICOMOS’s 20C Committee.