Docomomo Ireland relaunches

Copyright Robert BallaghDOCOMOMO Ireland will be officially re-launched at Busáras on the afternoon of Thursday, July 8th, 2010. DOCOMOMO Ireland succeeds and replaces the Irish DOCOMOMO Working Party, established in 1991. DOCOMOMO is an international organization, founded at Eindhoven in The Netherlands in 1990, committed to the documentation and conservation of buildings, sites and neighbourhoods of the modern movement.

DOCOMOMO Ireland aims to: foster interest in the ideas and heritage of the modern movement in Ireland exchange knowledge relating to conservation technology, history and education elicit responsibility towards this recent architectural inheritance and act as a watchdog when important Irish modern movement buildings and sites are threatened

DOCOMOMO Ireland is a membership organization open to all who are interested in modern movement architecture in Ireland. Applications for membership of the new association are invited. The annual subscription for 2010 has been set at €50 for membership of DOCOMOMO Ireland and €110 for a combined membership of DOCOMOMO Ireland and DOCOMOMO International. A reduced subscription rate for DOCOMOMO Ireland of €20 is available for students, unemployed and retired members.

Membership applications should be made in writing, stating your name, address, telephone and email contact details, and be accompanied by the annual subscription fee. Cheques should be made payable to DOCOMOMO Ireland. Membership applications should be sent to:
The Secretary
8 Merrion Square, Dublin 2

Members are also invited to put their names forward for election to the committee for the coming year, to serve either as committee members (7 vacancies) or as officers (Chair, Secretary, Treasurer) on the committee of 10. Prospective committee members should attach their personal expression of interest to their membership application. There is no need for a seconder.

The following members have already indicated their willingness to stand for election: Chair: Peter Cody; Secretary: Shane O’Toole; Treasurer: Peter Carroll; Committee: Paddy Cahill, Ellen Rowley, Paul Tierney, Simon Walker.

The deadline for receipt of membership applications and expressions of interest to stand for election is 12 noon on Thursday, June 24th, 2010. Only those who have applied for membership by that date will be eligible to vote in the election. Only members may attend the relaunch at Busáras, when details of upcoming events will be announced.