Landmark Irish Building Projects since 1990

Home Forums Ireland Landmark Irish Building Projects since 1990

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      MK O Flanagan
      Participant

i am a journalist and I am commissioned to write a piece about landmark building projects since 1990 in Ireland (one for each year).

I would welcome suggestions from members of this forum; projects you have worked on or projects you admire. I would like to include infrastructure projects as well as buildings.

Please write here or send e-mails to mary@irishconstruction.com

Thank you all.

d_d_dallas
      Participant

From an infrastructure point of view – the Jack Lynch tunnel in Cork and the soon to be completed (in 2045…) Port Tunnel. The Jack Lynch is probably a better one as it’s already finished and was the first, plus I don’t think anyone in Marino complained about de noizzze.
      Landmark buildings? Well how about the refurbishment of Collins Barracks – not a new building but a great restoration and change of use…

GregF
      Participant

There have been no landmark buildings whatsoever …..hence the poor response!

sw101
      Participant

tearing down the floozy in da jacuzzi. that was a landmark i’m fond of. might have been early this millenium though. all in all the 90’s was a bit of a disappointment.

sw101
      Participant

damn architecture, making me so bitter. and i’m o so young

on reflection i’d highly recommend the green building in temple bar as a landmark building. raising awareness and acceptability of sustainable design. tis a bit of a flop what with all its fancy bits broken but it was experimental and temperamental technology at the time.

also, the bookend building by arthur gibney and partners is nice, not entirely to my taste but does make a positive impact in that area of temple bar. may have been 2000 though.

the gate cinema in cork(derek tynan), and also the opera house are worth a mention.