Re: Re: well what about the developments popping up in the shannonside ?

Home Forums Ireland well what about the developments popping up in the shannonside ? Re: Re: well what about the developments popping up in the shannonside ?

GMiley
Participant

Hi Lads, I’m new to the discussion on what’s been going on in Limerick but I’m a mad keen fan on the city and thought I’d add my tuppence worth to the Charlotte’s Quay situation you’ve been talking about a bit.

I seen to remember that the planning application for the car park which forms the ‘core’ of the site in question received planning approval in late 1999. I was working in the architect’s dept of Limerick City Council at the time and when the application was put on my desk for comment I instinctively reacted thinking that the proposal represented a lost oportunity for one of the most important sites in the city. I drew up an alternative proposal for the entire site which (I’m symplifying now) would include developing a small plaza roughly where the car park now stands served by a network of small streets which would attempt to stitch the site fabric back into the existing layout of Charlotte’s Quay, Broad Street, etc.

Following discussions with my seniors, I prepared some presentationn drawings of what I had in mind and was instructed to call the applicants into City Hall for a meeting to see if we could get them to reconsider their approach.

The meeting was held on, I think, Christmas Eve. Naturally, my senior colleagues made last minute excuses and I was left to meet the applicant his architects/engineers/legal advisors, etc., on my own.

Anyway, I made the pitch as best I could. I showed them my few sketches and told them that this was the way we, in the Council, pictured the future direction of the site taking. I hoped, I said, they might take these suggestions on board before their application was too far advanced.