Reply To: RIAI Awards

Home Forums Ireland RIAI Awards Reply To: RIAI Awards


An award like this already exists in America, run by the AIA. Called the Twenty-five Year Award, it is open to buildings in any country that were designed by an architect licensed in the US and completed 25 to 35 years ago. The impressive list of previous winners:

1969 Rockefeller Center, New York City, Reinhard & Hofmeister; Corbett, Harrison & MacMurray
1971 The Crow Island School, Winnetka, Ill., Perkins, Wheeler & Will; Eliel & Eero Saarinen
1972 Baldwin Hills Village, Los Angeles, Reginald D. Johnson; Wilson, Merrill & Alexander; Clarence S. Stein
1973 Taliesin West, Paradise Valley, Ariz., Frank Lloyd Wright
1974 Johnson and Son Administration Building, Racine, Wis., Frank Lloyd Wright
1975 Philip Johnson’s Residence, (“The Glass House”), New Caanan, Conn., Philip Johnson
1976 860-880 North Lakeshore Drive Apartments, Chicago, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
1977 Christ Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, Saarinen, Saarinen & Associates; Hills, Gilbertson & Hays
1978 The Eames House, Pacific Palisades, Calif., Charles and Ray Eames
1979 Yale University Art Gallery, New Haven, Conn., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1980 Lever House, New York City, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
1981 Farnsworth House, Plano, Ill., Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
1982 Equitable Savings and Loan Building, Portland, Ore., Pietro Belluschi, FAIA
1983 Price Tower, Bartlesville, Okla., Frank Lloyd Wright
1984 Seagram Building, New York City, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
1985 General Motors Technical Center, Warren, Mich., Eero Saarinen and Associates with Smith, Hinchman & Grylls
1986 Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright
1987 Bavinger House, Norman, Okla., Bruce Goff
1988 Dulles International Airport Terminal Building, Chantilly, Va., Eero Saarinen and Associates
1989 Vanna Venturi House, Chestnut Hill, Pa., Robert Venturi, FAIA
1990 The Gateway Arch, St. Louis, Eero Saarinen and Associates
1991 Sea Ranch Condominium I, The Sea Ranch, Calif., Moore Lyndon Turnbull Whitaker
1992 The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, Calif., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1993 Deere & Company Administrative Center, Moline, Ill., Eero Saarinen and Associates
1994 The Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Deer Isle, Maine, Edward Larrabee Barnes
1995 The Ford Foundation Headquarters, New York City, Kevin Roche John Dinkeloo and Associates
1996 The Air Force Academy Cadet Chapel, Colorado Springs, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
1997 Phillips Exeter Academy Library, Exeter, N. H., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1998 Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth, Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1999 The John Hancock Center, Chicago, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
2000 The Smith House, Darien, Conn., Richard Meier & Partners
2001 Weyerhaeuser Headquarters, Federal Way, Wash., Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
2002 Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona, Spain, Sert Jackson and Associates
2003 Design Research Headquarters Building, Cambridge, Mass., Benjamin Thompson & Associates
2004 East Building of The National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., I. M. Pei & Partners.

Further info:

Latest News