RIAI Awards

Home Forums Ireland RIAI Awards

  • This topic has 6 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 20 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
    • #707119

      Does anyone think that it might be an idea to have a ‘retrospect’ award within the RIAI Awards structure? What I mean by this is that an older building is chosen aswell as the ones that have won awards. I am not talking about a conservation project (as there is already and award for that), I am actually talking about a building that was built, say, in the last 30 years or so. It could be one that maybe won an award in the past or simply one that people have grown to appreciate over the years. Take for example the Administration Building in UCD, which won the Gold Medal 1971-1973 (I really like it I must admit). How do people feel about that building now? Obviously it is difficult to assess and all that because it has taken on a life of its own since then. But then again, maybe that would be the point: After 30 years it would be clear if a building is functioning well, and therefore it could be determined if it is a truly worthy building or not!

      From a more contemporary perspective, the reason I thought about this was because I noticed that the new look Roches Stores on Henry Street in Dublin won the ‘Best contribution to Urban Design’ award. I began to wonder how we will view this building in about 10, 15 or maybe 20 years time?

      Maybe this award already exists!?
      Anyway, sorry for my long speel of waffle!

      Any thoughts?


    • #743120

      What a great idea! Unfortunately a lot of the hype and publicity of the current awards is fuelled by contractors and suppliers trying to get their services featured for futher business… not to mention architects. There mightn’t be a commercial imperitave to it.

      HOWEVER.. I’d like to nominate my home… a 1950’s corpo dwelling in Crumlin… Brilliant design for low cost living… low maintenance and lovely proportions inside.. still doing the bizz.

    • #743121

      An award like this already exists in America, run by the AIA. Called the Twenty-five Year Award, it is open to buildings in any country that were designed by an architect licensed in the US and completed 25 to 35 years ago. The impressive list of previous winners:

      1969 Rockefeller Center, New York City, Reinhard & Hofmeister; Corbett, Harrison & MacMurray
      1971 The Crow Island School, Winnetka, Ill., Perkins, Wheeler & Will; Eliel & Eero Saarinen
      1972 Baldwin Hills Village, Los Angeles, Reginald D. Johnson; Wilson, Merrill & Alexander; Clarence S. Stein
      1973 Taliesin West, Paradise Valley, Ariz., Frank Lloyd Wright
      1974 Johnson and Son Administration Building, Racine, Wis., Frank Lloyd Wright
      1975 Philip Johnson’s Residence, (“The Glass House”), New Caanan, Conn., Philip Johnson
      1976 860-880 North Lakeshore Drive Apartments, Chicago, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
      1977 Christ Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, Saarinen, Saarinen & Associates; Hills, Gilbertson & Hays
      1978 The Eames House, Pacific Palisades, Calif., Charles and Ray Eames
      1979 Yale University Art Gallery, New Haven, Conn., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
      1980 Lever House, New York City, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
      1981 Farnsworth House, Plano, Ill., Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
      1982 Equitable Savings and Loan Building, Portland, Ore., Pietro Belluschi, FAIA
      1983 Price Tower, Bartlesville, Okla., Frank Lloyd Wright
      1984 Seagram Building, New York City, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
      1985 General Motors Technical Center, Warren, Mich., Eero Saarinen and Associates with Smith, Hinchman & Grylls
      1986 Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright
      1987 Bavinger House, Norman, Okla., Bruce Goff
      1988 Dulles International Airport Terminal Building, Chantilly, Va., Eero Saarinen and Associates
      1989 Vanna Venturi House, Chestnut Hill, Pa., Robert Venturi, FAIA
      1990 The Gateway Arch, St. Louis, Eero Saarinen and Associates
      1991 Sea Ranch Condominium I, The Sea Ranch, Calif., Moore Lyndon Turnbull Whitaker
      1992 The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, Calif., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
      1993 Deere & Company Administrative Center, Moline, Ill., Eero Saarinen and Associates
      1994 The Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Deer Isle, Maine, Edward Larrabee Barnes
      1995 The Ford Foundation Headquarters, New York City, Kevin Roche John Dinkeloo and Associates
      1996 The Air Force Academy Cadet Chapel, Colorado Springs, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
      1997 Phillips Exeter Academy Library, Exeter, N. H., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
      1998 Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth, Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
      1999 The John Hancock Center, Chicago, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
      2000 The Smith House, Darien, Conn., Richard Meier & Partners
      2001 Weyerhaeuser Headquarters, Federal Way, Wash., Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
      2002 Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona, Spain, Sert Jackson and Associates
      2003 Design Research Headquarters Building, Cambridge, Mass., Benjamin Thompson & Associates
      2004 East Building of The National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., I. M. Pei & Partners.

      Further info: http://www.aia.org/aiarchitect/thisweek03/tw0801/0801_25year.htm

    • #743122

      That is an impressive list.
      Thanks Trace and Roskav!

      Roskav, I would like to support your nomination! 🙂

    • #743123

      great idea phil. what would be good would be a great buildings list, so the rule would be that every year the committee would add say four buildings to the list and remove say one and over time it would be refined into a definitive list of great buildings in ireland.

    • #743124

      rockav , sneaking suspicion u were on the sunday times home mag a few weeks back??????????????

    • #743125

      Notjim, not sure if I would remove buildings as time went on or not, but I can see your reasoning.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Latest News