Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara win 2015 Jane Drew Prize


The 2015 Jane Drew Prize has been awarded to Irish architects Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, who set up Grafton Architects in 1978, for their ‘massive influence’ on the architectural profession.

The award, which has previously gone to Zaha Hadid, Eva Jiricná, and Kathryn Findlay, was given to the Dublin-based duo in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the status of women in architecture. The jury, which included Norman Foster and Patty Hopkins, described them as ‘extremely impressive and hardworking’, and ‘They are not afraid to speak in a language that is feminine yet they produce buildings which are robust and full of conviction.’