Re: Re: Dear Young Architects

Home Forums Ireland Dear Young Architects Re: Re: Dear Young Architects

Anonymous
Inactive

@PVC King wrote:

There is no vitriol; I just can’t believe the arrogance of anyone who proposes a system based on getting a qualification in their 20’s and feeling they are above regulation for the rest of their lives.

I haven’t proposed anything, never mind “a system based on getting a qualification in their 20’s” – whatever that is supposed to be.

As for regulatio, as an architect, I have been regulated by the laws of the land since I undertook my first Real World design project.
This was before I qualified, because if you hold yourself out to be an architect, or someone who might be expected to exercise a particular level of skill and care, you will be judged at the standard you hold yourself to be, whatever you actually are.
It is this principle of law which has deterred unqualified people from setting up as architects over the years, and which continues to protect members of the public when such people make mistakes.
Just to nail your worship of regulation in a box, whether or not such persons are entitled to use the title is irrelevant – they will be judged and sentenced if found to have committed wrongdoing as if they were architects, if they claimed they were architects in the first place.

Can’t you see a way forward where the Registrar’s denial of people’s right to the title architect might concievably be used by them as a defence to cop a lesser plea and thereby avoid the full rigour of the law?
What price protection of the public when the perpetrator – who previously traded as an architect – escapes the full penalty because he was prevented fron using the title.
Its on such nicities of law as this that legal careers are made or founder.