1907 – Church, Timoleague, Co. Cork
“Timoleague (Co. Cork). — A new parish church is being erected in Timoleague, to replace the existing antiquated building. The design of the new’ church was entrusted to Mr. M. A. Hennessy, Cork, whose work in church architecture mar be seen in the noble edifices of St. John’s, Limerick, Holy Cross, Charleville, Kilcoe, Durrus, besides ; many other ecclesiastical and conventual establishments scattered throughout the country. The design of the church shows that our native architecture is capable of adaptation to the needs of the present day, for though purely Celtic found its last expression in the magnificent chapel of King Cormac on the Rock of Cashel, no one could expect that a mere copy or enlargement of that example would suit the needs and requirements of the present day. A pleasing feature in connection with the work is that all the materials used will as far as possible be Irish, and the labour, skilled and unskilled, local. The contractor is Mr.. Murphy, of Bandon, who has had a long experience in such matters, – and he has made very satisfactory progress with the work for the past few months. ” The Irish Builder, September 21, 1907.