Provincial Bank of Ireland

In 1825, the Provincial Bank of Ireland commenced operations in Cork, opening its first branch in Dublin a year later. Its primary aim was to introduce English capital into Ireland outside of the Dublin area. In 1966 Allied Irish Banks Limited was created as a new company that merged three Irish banks: Provincial Bank of Ireland, the Royal Bank of Ireland, and the Munster & Leinster Bank.