RIAI Travelling Scholarship announced

logo_riaiThe theme for this year’s Travelling Scholarship Award was Building in the Landscape. Many of the schemes met the challenge of this theme head-on with well considered proposals for building in a sensitive rural location. There were a total of 70 entries received for the Rural 2010 from three Schools of Architecture, Dublin Institute of Technology, University College Dublin and Waterford Institute of Technology. The Winner of the Travelling Scholarship Medal was Breffni Greene.

The assessment of entries took place on the 19th April 2010. The presentation of Winner’s Medal, Certificates for Highly Commended and opening of Exhibition took place on 18th May 2010 in the Ballymun Civic Centre, Ballymun Road, Dublin 11.

The following were Highly Commended: Thomas Comerford; Raukura Turei; Ger Brennan; Sean Kehoe; Stephen Murphy; Paul O’Brien; Leanne Martin; Brian Casey.

The following were also selected for Exhibition: Wendy S. Adams; Sean Attley; Jonathan Buckley; Conor Coughlan; Aisling Flanagan; Paul Geoghegan; Dualta Mc Cormac Jones; Conchuir O’Hargain; Adrian Kelly; Uldis Krautmanis; John Crowley.