1882 – Fortune Block, 232 Main Street, Winnipeg
Architect: C. Mancel Willmot & George W. Stewart
Constructed in 1882 for businessman Mark Fortune, who died on the Titanic. He soon sold it to Alexander Macdonald who built the adjacent building, the Macdonald Block. The Macdonald Block had different toned brick but similar decorative brickwork. Today they are largely seen as the one building. Beautifully restored in recent years, really highlighting the decorative brickwork.
Published November 15, 2011 | Last Updated November 15, 2025

