Dublin skyline

Dublin skyline

Postby kaz » Fri Oct 22, 2004 12:48 pm

Hi, I'm researching a project on the changing skyline of Dublin and comparing it to changes made to other cities. I'd be really interested in your views on the matter, any buildings you particularly like / disllike etc. Also, I'm just new to living in Dublin, so please give me details of any particular architectural deligths I should go see! thanks.
kaz

Postby phil » Fri Oct 22, 2004 1:19 pm

Hi kaz,

What sort of time-scale are you looking at (ie: Dublin since 1800 or just late 20th century etc?) and what Cities are you comparing it to? Also, are you looking at possible future developments, or is it just an examination of how it actually looks now? Sounds interesting anyway.
phil
Old Master

Postby alpha » Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:34 pm

what skyline? lol. we need a good few high rise buildings to give dublin city a proper skyline. when i say high rise i mean 30-40 storeys. for example the eire tower. anyway to answer your question kaz... i quite like one georges quay plaza. i dislike millennium tower.

:)
alpha

Postby samhraid » Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:56 am

Watch the birdies. Duck for cranes.
samhraid

Postby PVC King » Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:48 pm

You could also include the Shay Cleary 'Santry Cross' scheme that I think is about 16-17 Storeys. Sadly most tall proposals in Ireland have been kicked to touch by Board Planala for example Spencer Dock, the modernised Georges Quay by american crowd and Smithfield complete with the big glass viking boat.

Also the Omuire Smyth scheme for the docks that got dropped after it was given planning.

Pretty depressing really
PVC King

Postby kaz » Tue Oct 26, 2004 1:27 pm

Looking at what it actually is like, and prob jst late C20th changes; time is short!
kaz

Postby CLAIRE MURRAY » Tue Nov 02, 2004 2:39 pm