Busaras Central Bus Station, Dublin

Busaras Central Bus Station, Dublin

Postby jbc » Tue Oct 01, 2002 4:32 pm

I am a Civil Engineering University student currently studying the Busaras bus station in Dublin. We have been set a project which involves us putting forward proposals for the renovation of Busaras. I understand that the building is listed and therefore the aesthetic and structural modification could be restricted. I am however finding it very difficult to determine what grade listing Busaras is and what restrictions this would impose. If anybody could point me in the direction of where I can get this information then I would be most grateful.

Regards,
Jbc
jbc

Postby LOB » Wed Oct 02, 2002 12:07 pm

there are no longer grades of listing
they are all "protected Structures" & this definition includes its setting as well as any structural or aesthetic considerations.
The Restrictions are now in general more onerous than before.
LOB

Postby jbc » Wed Oct 02, 2002 1:08 pm

From literature on the web I understand that this means that the buildings internal and external appearance is completely protected? Therefore all works (other than repairs that do not alter the appearance) would need planning approval, whereby other bodies such as the Minister of Arts and the Heritage Council would be consulted. Is this correct?

If so, what kind of aesthetic or structural alterations to Busaras are likely to be accepted? I presume nothing so radical as changes to the external facade would be allowed? Would changing window types to something more modern be permitted? Also what about things like structural alterations to install escalators, etc?

Any info would be gratefully received, as I am trying to get a competitive advantage over the other teams on the course, as long as they don't find this forum!!

Thanks,
jbc
jbc

Postby Paul Clerkin » Wed Oct 02, 2002 1:26 pm