Comments about planning for an UCC assignment

Comments about planning for an UCC assignment

Postby Tonhauser » Fri Jan 26, 2007 5:15 pm

Dear forum users,

Who is interested in commenting on the Irish planning system?

I'm currently studying at the Department of Government at the UCC in Cork as an Erasmus student from Germany. As an assignment for the module "Planning Policy in Ireland" our lecturer Dr. Aodh Quinlivan asked us to write an assessment of the current Irish planning system. He explicitly encouraged us to interview architects, developers, officials from the local authorities and other people that are normally involved in the planning system. I've already interviewed two planners from Cork City Council and from Cork County Council and I tried to get hold of architects from Cork as well. However, no architect replied to my mails. I stumbled across this forum by accident and thought it might be a good way to get a few comments.

So, if you're interested in commenting on the Irish planning system, write a post in this thread (stating your full name, if possible) or write me an e-mail (if you don't want to state you're name in public). Also, if you're an architect and from Cork, I would be happy to meet you and conduct a short interview of no more than twenty minutes in the next week (Jan 28 - Feb 2). You would be provided with a written transcript of the conversation afterwards which you could alter to your liking.

The essay will not be published.

Questions of interest to me would be:

What is planning for you (in abstract terms)?

How do you feel about the new Planning and Development (Strategic Infrastructure) Act 2006?

Is planning in Ireland the complete antithesis to what it should be?

What would you try to change in the Irish planning system if you could?

More info on the essay: