Advice Needed (Urban Design)

World architecture... what's happening generally....

Advice Needed (Urban Design)

Postby Sparks » Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:36 am

I was wondering is there anyone out there that can help me!:confused:

I know that this is an architecture site and I don't mean to hi-jack it in any way, but I am hoping someone can help.

I am a mature student finishing year two of a four year property economics degree in Bolton Street DIT. My plan at the moment is proceed after and do the Msc in Spatial Planning for 2.5 years. I have a creative side to me that is not being satisfied and I think that becoming a planner and concentrating on Urban Design will feed my creative hunger.

I did play with the thought some time back in studying architecture, but due to the cost and time frame involved, I decided not to. I do like the idea of designing buildings/homes, but not to make a career of it!

What I want to know is, is my reasoning for focusing on Urban Design the correct one. Is there a creative element to Urban Design?

What i would like to do is to design/decide the layout of a development/town/village/urban centre. I want to decide the best place to put the new school/hospital/police station etc....... The layout, is that Urban Design???

Also, I currently work in sales (residential), as I still have 2 years left of the degree, I was planning on changing jobs this year to make myself more eligible for a place on the Msc course. There is a criteria that has to be met, which is at least a 2.2 degree or higher in a related degree (will hopefully I will get that!) and then 5 years post experience (may be a big problem). I will have 4 years sales experience which would have involved some planning/zoning experience and then hopefully the next two in a consultancy of some sort. Does anyone know if consultancies take on people like me............ ! Very little experience!