Career Change to Architecture?

World architecture... what's happening generally....

Career Change to Architecture?

Postby JS » Tue Apr 16, 2002 3:05 pm

Hi. I am an IT Project Manager and am considering changing career completely, to architecture. Straight after school, I did a degree in economics and business. This decision was based on several factors, among them my interest in business, the wide application of such studies and the lack of confidence in my creative / artistic abilities, having not done art at school.

I am 27 now, and not surprisingly to me (on reflection), not finding my current career creatively stimulating or satisfying; there is this niggling regret that I didn't at least ATTEMPT (to study) Architecture when I was younger. To be honest, I am not convinced that the architectural discipline is necessarily the appropriate outlet for my creative instincts, and to make the decision NOW to follow the 7+ year formal education path (RIBA) to qualify as an architect, would therefore be a hefty one, with widespread implications. (e.g. What happens if after say 2 years things aren't working out, what am I skilled to do then, what doors am I closing by taking this course of action or if things do, how does the market look at a novice architect aged 35?!)

I am, by nature, observant and I pay great attention to detail. I have never really thought of myself as "arty", (please don't be offended by my stereotyping!). In fact, I think of myself as quite conservative (although this opinion has probably been formed by previous boundaries I have set for myself). My approach to life is logical, methodical and analytical, yet proactive and enthusiastic. I am very thoughtful, and within that arena, imaginative.