Anybody abroad looking for a year out student to work for crap wage but great experie

World architecture... what's happening generally....

Anybody abroad looking for a year out student to work for crap wage but great experie

Postby roishball » Sat May 29, 2004 5:55 pm

Hey,
I'm just starting my year out and I'm dying to get some experience, preferably abroad. Problem is ive never had the chance to work in an office before.....you could look at it that im yet to be corrupted.....anyways, is there graduates from Bolton St willing to take me on?
I make good coffee and I'm not a bad designer either.....particularly interested in architecture that uses common materials in interesting ways.......email me if you want to c my cv/ mini portfolio
roishball

Postby signum » Mon May 31, 2004 12:03 am

My advice to you (and I´ve just finished my part I year out) is to send your cv by fax or post to every practice you would consider working for, just posting here (though I imagine you´re not just looking here) won´t be enough. I worked in a practice for a few months, didn´t enjoy it, didn´t learn anything, but it got me on the first rung at least. I wouldn´t commit to a long contract with any office that you think will just use you, nor would I accept an unrealistic wage, it´s scandalous as well as totally unrealistic the wages that many would like, and do pay.

If you can´t get in with the practices you want to work for, you could consider offering yourself for very little, on the condition that you either get employed thereafter (if you´re useful) or that they help you move onto another practice (where you get paid a human wage!)