So what's happening out there?

So what's happening out there?

Postby parka » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:23 pm

Apart from the usual news, I'm just wondering if anyone has seen any changes work wise?
parka

Re: So what's happening out there?

Postby keating » Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:37 pm

As a Passive Architecture consultant, I've found that in the Last 2 weeks things have gone mental, huge interest from people looking to go Passive with their plans, prior to starting their build. We're analysing 2 buildings per day through the PHPP. I think people are realising that if you are building your own home anything less than passive is wasteful. Its a pity they didn't use an Architect, not to mention one with an understanding of sun and energy, right from the start. Many of my clients for new build or renovation have gone to qualified Architects asking them to provide a Passive design service only to find that they are lacking in knowledge of the design of near passive and passivhaus even though its been around since the early 90's.

Many Architects confuse Passive standard with Carbon zero or even Deap A rated. It is neither. Passive is just designing the house so it dosent need a conventional heating system. Its hard to have sympathy with Architecture firms not getting to grips with the new way of building for an energy scarce future. Most firms are still floggin VHS technology. They are still also waiting for developers to walk i the door asking for a few hundred apartments. The lands that were zoned for homogonised repeat pattern units will be sold as 'develop your own plot' serviced sites, by Nama. The firms that can meet this market demand for cheap low energy, off site built low energy individual houses will prosper in the constricting future economy.