The unique amongst the ubiquitous- The modern house in suburbia

The unique amongst the ubiquitous- The modern house in suburbia

Postby CiaraMarie » Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:59 pm

Dear all
I would be really grateful for any direction or opinions you may offer on the topic “The unique amongst the ubiquitous- The modern house in suburbia”in the context of Ireland.
I am a fourth year architectural student studying in the UK, originally from Ireland and have chosen to study this topic as my dissertation/ research project in order to understand the development and position of Ireland on “non traditional” housing in today’s climate.
Having followed the wrath of Jack Fitzsimons’ infamous book “Bungalow Bliss”, Ireland’s affinity with the Bungalow, Suburban to Superural publications of alternative proposals for future housing in Ireland, I am interested in unearthing a possible case study of a key modern house in the suburbs of Ireland, built maybe 50/60years ago. I am keen to analyse the attitudes of the Irish people, locals, media and planners on such a project in contrast to the ubiquitous housing built at the same time and make a comparison to a contemporary house in Ireland today in order to interpret whether we have moved forward and whether tides have changes over the last number of years to the present day.
Any opinions or advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated.
CiaraMarie

Re: The unique amongst the ubiquitous- The modern house in suburbia

Postby KerryBog2 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:15 pm

CiaraMarie wrote:Dear all
........., I am interested in unearthing a possible case study of a key modern house in the suburbs of Ireland, built maybe 50/60years ago. .

Difficult. Anyone wealthy enough to build a one-off at that time is probably dead and same for any local planners and "objectors."