Smithfield Plazza

Smithfield Plazza

Postby theginjaninja » Fri Nov 14, 2003 1:03 pm

Hello,

I am an Architecture student from, Portsmouth and I am currently studying the success of the Smithfield project in terms of its success in proving some form of regeneration through open space.

Does anyone have any comments as to how successful it has been? Has the areas been gentrified? Has there been any real physical or social regeneration in the area becuase of the scheme (other than published buildings)

Thanks in advance

Andy Matthews
andrewmatthews at mac dot com
theginjaninja

Postby LOB » Fri Nov 14, 2003 1:40 pm

Try here
http://www.archiseek.com/content/showthread.php?s=&threadid=417&perpage=15&highlight=smithfield&pagenumber=1
There are many other forums on this site where smithfield was discussed.
LOB

Postby d_d_dallas » Fri Nov 14, 2003 2:13 pm

Smithfield - €400,000 one bed apartments next door to two storey social housing.
d_d_dallas

Postby theginjaninja » Fri Nov 14, 2003 2:19 pm

d d dallas.. exactly what I need. Thanks!
LOB - the other posts are eceptionally useful.
Will post a summary of my dissertation here when it gets written.

abstract is as follows (draft)
Our cities and urban fabric are in dire need of help! The reasons for this urban decay are numerous and varied. The decay of our urban fabric is well documented and has been brought to the forefront of political and social debate in recent years by work of Lord Rogers and the Urban Task force.